Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctors. Do you think this is positive or negative trend?

In today's time, a growing number of people are switching to alternative medicine instead of traditional one. This can happen for several reasons: as a response to negative past experiences with doctors, a disfunctional health system that has long waiting and overworked staff or for ethical motives. Although non-traditional medicine can help people, it can be dangerous to totally ignore tested and scientifically proven traditional treatments. The traditional western medicine has been influenced by the eastern " alternative " one but this is not always negative. A clear example in this case can be Chinese medicine, where teas or particular types of massages with needles can be used against common problems such as period pain, backache or to cure frequent headaches. This type of treatments work because even if they are new to us, they have been practiced and studied for centuries. The same does not apply to omeopatic therapies, they are becoming more and more popular nowadays although they are not scientifically proven so there is no fundation on their acatual operation. This type of medicine is easly accessible to people with no medical knowledge and for this reason it cannot substitute the opinion of an expert. Of course, natural treatments exist and can be effective but I think they always have to be discussed with a doctor in order to be safe. People do not turn to alternative medicine for no reason. Oftentimes one's nation healthcare system is overworked and overcrowded, with infinite waiting lists and doctors that have little time to take care of their patients because they have to many. Alternative treatments are more accessible but I think everyone should focus on finding doctors that they can trust and that know their patients. Doing so, you will always have an informed trusted figure to go to in case of need. In conclusion, alternative medicine can be positive to solve certain problems but it should always be accompanied by the opinion of an expert. I think finding a trustworthy doctor is fundamental to have a healthy life and to avoid searching for therapies alone with zero to little medical knowledge.