In many countries, more people than ever before drive private cars. Do you think the advantage of this development outweigh the disadvantage?

In the current decade the volume of people who use personal vehicles is all time high. This happens largely due to the ever-increasing pace of our everyday lives. In this essay I would like to compare pros and cons of this phenomenon. For many people everyday commute to work via car is the only feasible option. This is largely due to poor public transport infrastructure even in many developed countries. The situation even more unappealing for the individuals who live in rural areas where no other option is present. The benefits of owning a car also include freedom of travel and independence from schedules and fixed routes that public transport require. One other raising trend which I personally prefer is car sharing. It provides the convenience of having a car with no trouble of maintaining it The possible drawbacks include heavy traffic jams and pollutions from exhaust pipes. This creates the variety of problems for city residents and has negative environment impact. But not all problems are unsolvable. For example, the popular trend of replacing conventional cars with their electric versions has to improve the ecological disadvantages. And traffic jams may also be fixed in the future when the car companies develop and present driverless cars technology where the cars gets to be summoned on demand and communicate to one another as one fleet. In conclusion, I think the advantage of increasing trend for population to drive personal cars in terms of convenient commute to work, personal freedom and independence trumps the negatives, such as heavy traffic and pollution from ignition system.