Without capital punishment (the death penalty) our lives are less secure and crimes of violence increase. Capital punishment in essential to control violence in society. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Opinions on the death penalty, which has ben widely applied throughout history, have shown a significant change with the development and progress of societies. While the execution was imposed on many criminal acts in the past, today this punishment has been removed from the laws in many countries, especially in European countries. In my view, the death penalty can be imposed for some serious offences, but not for all. In this essay, I will explain this view with examples. Firstly, I believe that there are various ways in which criminals may be punished instead of being killed, and that these punishments should be based on the gravity of the offence committed by the person. For example, convicts who commit major acts should be death or imprisoned fort he rest of their lives. In this way, a person who like that this person will analyse their actions and behavior and become aware of the harm they have caused to society. On the other hand, some countries impose the capital punishment on people because of religious requirements, for instance in Iran, a woman can receive this punishment because she does not cover her head. This method of punishment that does not respect human thought and belief. Secondly, a punishment without deterrence and an rigidityaimed at violence will make society prone to violence. For example, the crime rate in the United States, one of the countries where the penalty is most widely used, is much higher than in many other countries. In conclusion, capital punishment is a debatable issue and have strong views on both sides. Taking prompt actions can be declined the violent crimes.