In many professional sports, there is an increase in the number of athletes using banned substances to improve their performance. What are the causes of the phenomenon and what are some of the possible solutions?

Nowadays, number of athletes are using banned substances to perform better in many professional sports. Drug consumption and a huge pressure from an audience or coach are the main reasons for this. To address this problem, medical checks and background check of athletes should be done before they play on the field. One major reason of this is that many sportspersons are falling in the habit of taking drugs. When they consume these harmful substances such as heroine, cocaine and many more, they feel more energetic, it increases their muscle power and also improves their breathing capacity. Thus, they feel relaxed, which impacts their performance positively. Besides this, the expectations that their coach or audience have from them give them a mental pressure of winning a match. This is why, they struggle to cope with the fear of losing the game, which sometimes pushes them to consume harmful substances. For instance, a famous Indian cricketer Sri Kant found guilty of consuming drugs years ago, before he played on the field. It probably happened because he won several cricket matches in line, an everyone was expecting him to win every time. The best solution can be a medical checkup of players on regular basis. This is usually done by exhaling air or instant blood test. With this, they will probably stop taking drugs, because of fear of defamation. Moreover, there should be a background check of person at the time of selection by sports authorities. An athlete with a history of doping should be banned from playing that sport. A particularly good example of this is the USA, where government is in the process of implementing stringent laws against this kind of acts to prevent this from happening in future. In conclusion, drug consumption and the pressure of winning the game are the two prominent causes of this phenomenon, but these can be addressed by medical checkups and background check in relation to drug history.