Many people believe that social networking sites (such as Facebook) have a huge negative impact on both individuals and society. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, the popularity of social media has skyrocketed, attracting numerous people to consume its services, especially on major social media platforms such as Facebook and Twitter which have experienced the most significant surge. Apparently, the influx of new users and the impact of these platforms have altered the traditional communication, the way we socialize and behave. It is imperative to delve into the possible negative consequences for their users to understand its nature. Undeniably, a huge portion of negative effect is caused by remote communication. Contemporary society provides comfortable and exceptionally easy-to-use chats, e-mails, and SMS, which consequently, it leads to non-obvious outcomes. It might sound surprising, but the temptation of sending digital messages makes people more passive and even less resistant to stress with time, psychologists say. Subsequently, people attempt to avoid contact with each other, making them shy and less confident. Such reshaped relationships cannot be overlooked; they have spread across the whole society, and the current Generation Alpha spends much more time than even the two previous generations combined. Despite the aforementioned impact, we ought to consider the positive side of social networking evolution. Web communication embarked rapid growth of economies, prosperity of numerous businesses, and connected people all over the world. Thereupon, the ability to call, write, or inform other individuals immediately became ubiquitous and made our existence significantly easier. The silhouette of modern communication underscores the efforts of previous generations. As a society, we should take advantage of our reality and mitigate the negative impact of social media.