Because of the busy pace of modern life, many children spent most of the time indoors and have little exposure to the nature. How important is it for children to learn to understand and appreciate nature? Give reasons of your answers and give relevant example of your experience.

In modern society, most young generations tend to play video games or surf the internet while staying at home rather than doing outdoor activities. However, youngsters should explore their surroundings more from an early age to form and boost their horizons, imagination and sociality. It is increasingly common to find adolescents spending most of their time doing indoor activities, such as playing computer games, using social media and just like things. Yet, this tendency is impacting them negatively. Namely, they are addicted to living in a virtual world instead of socialising in real life. In Japan, for instance, approximately 85 per cent of children are wasting their precious time just sitting at home using various gadgets. As a consequence, they do not have interests or responsibilities to care for the environment. That’s why, the Japanese government are trying to challenge them to go for walks in new theme parks in order to make them appreciate nature. When it comes to the effects of relaxing in nature on teenagers, they can get a great amount of energy, overcome stressful situations and lead healthy lifestyles. I mean that exploring nature enables a child to be more optimistic about changes. For this reason, it is important to teach youth to understand and preserve nature so that future generations will also savour it. For example, in our country, it is a tradition to take pupils to valleys, mountains and other sightseeing places. To conclude, although most children are used to staying indoors, it is vitally important for them to learn and appreciate nature.