Some believe that installing CCTVs in high crime areas help to reduce crime. What are the advantages of this?

Some people believe that equipping with CCTVs is beneficial to public peace as they can help a criminal investigation, and there has been an argument regarding it. This essay will discuss merits and deberits debits about installing CCTVs. To begin with, CCTVs can decrease the rate of crime by playing a role of surveillant. It is hard for people to do some illegal acts when they feel like being watched. Moreover, security cameras can be a strong evidence or clue to solve the criminal case. In the past, police investigation depended on witness' verbal evidence, so there were concerns regarding the reliability or accuracy issuses. But now, investigation agencies can be provided with ckear and objective proofs by the cameras which is scattered everywhere in the neighborhood, They assist to catch a criminal by offering traces of suspects. However, there are some disadvantages of pervasive surveillance cameras. One of them is an invasion of privacy which is the most arguable issue in the modern world. People's private life is being recorded even in the situation that they are unknown about the existence of cameras, as it is hard to find an area without security cameras. This can make people humiliated and embarrased. For example, there was a case that an owner of a restaurant posted a short video of a celebrity who visited the place, and the public felt resentment that the restaurant owner disclosed and invaded one innocent citizen's private life. Furthermore, people felt fear that it is easy for the ower of the area which CCTVs are equipped with to use their recordings in an undesireable way. In conclusion, it is obvious that there are lots of positive effects if the surveillance cameras are installed in the neighborhood. In contrast, there are also significant side effects because the cameras can be misused readily.