Some believe that installing CCTVs in high crime areas help to reduce crime. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

Some people believe that equipping with CCTVs is beneficial to public peace as they can help a criminal investigation, and there has been an argument regarding it. This essay will discuss the merits and demerits of installing CCTVs. To begin with, the main advantage is that CCTVs can decrease the rate of crime by playing the role of surveillant. It is hard for people to do illegal acts when they feel like being watched. Moreover, security cameras can be strong evidence or clues to solve criminal cases. In the past, police investigations depended on witnesses' verbal evidence, so there were concerns regarding the reliability or accuracy issues. But now, investigation agencies can be provided with clear and objective proof by the cameras which are scattered everywhere in the neighbourhood, They assist in catching a criminal by offering traces of suspects. However, there are some disadvantages of pervasive surveillance cameras. One of them is an invasion of privacy which is the most arguable issue in the modern world. People's private life is being recorded even in the situation where they are unaware of the existence of cameras, as it is hard to find an area without security cameras. This can make people humiliated and embarrassed. For example, there was a case that an owner of a restaurant posted a short video of a celebrity who visited the place, and the public felt resentment that the restaurant owner disclosed and invaded one innocent citizen's private life. Furthermore, people felt fear that it would be easy for the owner of the area which is equipped with CCTVs to use their recordings in an undesirable way. In conclusion, it is obvious that there are lots of positive effects if surveillance cameras are installed in the neighbourhood. In contrast, there are also significant side effects because the cameras can be misused readily.