In many professional sports, there is an increase in the number of athletes using banned substances to improve their performance. What are the causes of the phenomenon and what are some of the possible solutions?

These days, some professional sportsmen break the law by using prohibited substances to boost their overall abilities. Hence, it is argued that some steps should be taken to tackle the problem of banned medication. This essay will discuss some reasons of this trend and provide possible solutions. To begin with, some athletes are forced to take steroids due to the high pressure from their couches and sponsors. This means that the sportman's financial success mainly depends on the group of members that invest in effective trainings, uniforms and health products. Hence, understanding the immense effort put into an individual who tries to win the competition, encourages performers to take banned supplements. For example, it was evident that during Tour de France, some cyclists, even who were in the greatest physical shape, got cought by the police for consuming prohibited pills to enhace their skills. Some measurements can be taken to metigate this problem by implementing harsher punishment and educational programs. Establishing higher fines lead to the rethinking of taking forbidden drugs and finding alternatives for improving the performance. Furthermore, if the authorities contribute to the awaraness programs about health risks of these substances, it will prevent individuals from using them. Laslty, improving the detection methods and increasing the frequency of testing ensure transparancy of these tests, leading to fair competitions. For instance, in America, when the organisers of weightlifting competitions embedded new advanced testing equipment, more than 20% of athletes got tested negative and did not have a chance to participate. In conclusion, even though forbidden substances may increase the performances, it is unfair and unhealthy. Hence, strict penalties along with health theoretical cources sources should be provided for resolving this issue.