In nearly all science courses at university, there are significantly more male students than female students. What is the reason for this? What could be done to balance out the number?

University education is a major determinant of career trajectories. With growing competition across various fields in science, the benefits of possessing a university degree far surpasses its drawbacks. Despite this, data suggest an imbalance in the gender ratio of students attending university wherein, males outweigh the number of females pursuing higher studies. In this essay, I will highlight contributory reasons and also provide suggestions to correct this imbalance. Human beings have evolved to exist in civilisations that were initially based on heirarchy. This classification was not just based on their occupational role in the society but also depended on the expectations from individual members at home. Historically, males have assumed the role of providers whereas, females have been relegated to domestic tasks. This continues to be reflected in the degree of patriarchy observed in 'modern' times. This, I suspect, may be a major contributor to the existing disparity. In rural India, for example, several parents still raise their daughters with the expectation of getting them married at a young age rather than pursuing further education in the interest of fulfiling the woman's inherently assumed gender role. There are several solutions to address this issue. While most of these may not be practical to implement, it is worth consideration. One way to tackle this issue may be to organise information distribution campaigns directed at empowering girls from a young age. Another method would be to incentivise parents to send their daughters to university, which could be funded by the Government. The virtues of higher education and its subsequent impact on the society at a macroscopic level should be conveyed through all forms of media to ensure the possibility of improving the number of females enrolling in university. To conclude, the prevailing gender disbalance remains a significant deterrant to modern society. Solving this complex matter would require collaborative effort between campaign organisers, Governmental bodies and Non Governmental Organisations. With these measures, can we expect a balanced future? Only time will tell.