Many people say that globalization and the growing number of multinational companies have a negative effect on the environment. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Use specific reasons and examples to support your position.

It is widely believed that globalisation and the increasing number of multinational companies have resulted in worse environment condition. I strongly agree with this opinion because they have contributed greatly to the increasing temperature of Earth and habitat loss in the recent times. While globalisation is often seen positively as advancements that make life easier and more peaceful, it actually brings serious problems to the environment. As productions in many sectors, such as food and fashion, are skyrocketing due to high demands, the carbon dioxide emmisions that arise from these processes also increase. As a result, our planet’s temperature is becoming warmer than it was a few years back. A new report reveals that fashion companies are responsible for 30% of the world’s greenhouse emission as their economic ambitions have led them to cut down trees irresponsibly, let alone other industries that are highly-dependent on natural wealth. In addition, environmental damage such as deforestation also affects the biodiversity that lives around. News about certain animals loss their habitats is becoming more and more common now, and most of them are related to the presence of multinational companies. This is particularly abundant in developing countries as lot of environmental exploitations take place there. A new report released by the Indonesian National Conservation Agency in 2020 mentioned that the population of Sumatran tigers are now on the verge of extinction as local paper industries’ large operations force them to seek new place or even make them die in starvation. In conclusion, the impacts of globalisation and the growing of international bussiness on the environment are primarily negative. The global warming and habitat loss are just two examples out of many.