In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of having an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages?

While some people see elderly as an issue for the government, I believe the opposite because the presence of ageing population indicates that a country has a high happiness rate. In my opinion, it outweighs the drawbacks. Admittedly, the more ageing people in a country, the more burden government should take as they need to allocate their money to help elderly. While this seems to bring no problems, preparing a huge sum of expenses to fund a generation who is no longer productive may hinder the development in other major aspects such as public facilities and younger human resources. For instance, in my country, the slow development of ready-for-job human resources is partly caused by unbalanced allocation the government has to make to accommodate the pension funds for elderly. As a result, the unemployment rates surge as the elderly is too old for the jobs while the younger ones lack skills and experience. However, the presence of elderly in the society can also mean that the overall well-being rate is amazing. When people live longer, it means that they are sufficient with their needs. This is especially true as a lot studies have now associated life sufficiency with a good well-being, meaning that the more ageing population, the higher their contentment rate. Finland, for example, has been rewarded as a country with the highest happiness rate because over 40% of their population aged beyond 70 years while still being fit and healthy. This indicates that having more numbers of elderly is beneficial as it speaks about how well a country is managed. In conclusion, while more ageing people means more burden for the government, in other cases it indicates a high rate of overall happiness, which is more important.