In many countries, people are spending more hours at their workplace. Why is that? Is that a negative and positive development?

In many nations, some people have a tendency to spend more time at their workplace. This essay attempts to provide further clarifications upon this tendency before concluding that it is detrimental to both workers themselves and their families. there are several reasons why people spend extended hours at their workplace. Firstly, these days, the cost of living is likely to be much higher than in the past, therefore workers have to earn more money to relieve the financial burden on their families. For example, by working more time, they could pay prices for themselves such as housing, education, and even food. Furthermore, the trend that many are spending extra hours working could be explained by the fact that many enterprises are understaffed. Factors, such as the company’s inability to recruit enough workers, and employee turnover, may force existing employees to work for longer hours. I would contend that the growing trend towards increased hours at workplaces is going to have serious problems. One drawback might be that, on the individual level, individuals who often tend to work for a long time might be at a higher risk of severe diseases such as mental fatigue or even obesity due to the fact that workers do not have enough time to take a break and recharge their battery. Moreover, With respect to family units, spending more time at the workplace is synonymous with less quality time for the family. Failure to spend sufficient time with family could weaken the bonds among family members, which could lead to family problems, such as domestic violence or parent arguing, and even divorces in worst-case scenarios. In conclusion, the desire to increase incomes and short-handed companies make a contribution to working time among many people, and I am convinced that the negative trend is mentioned above.