In many countries it is now illegal to adverstise. Do you agree or disagree ?

Adverts for beer, wine and whiskey are now banned in many nations. This essay completely agrees with this idea because drinking can lead to many serious health and social problems and advertisers can often persuade people to drink more than they should. Drinking alcohol excessively affects degenerative health problems and subsequently, causes many social issues not only for the drinker but also for the family members. Alcohol is one of the top substances that damage the liver and often leads to liver cancer and other chronic diseases. Additionally, a family with an alcoholic living at home often experiences violence and different forms of mental abuse. For instance, organizations such as Alcoholics Anonymous have to support many families affected by an excessive drinker and his/her aggressive behaviours. Hence, posing limitations on the exposure to drink through media is considered as a good measure by the government. Advertising can influence many people with their various marketing strategies to increase the demand for their products. Often, alcoholics trying to stay sober can see evening television commercials and this could make it harder for them to quit. Younger people can also be easily exposed to the wrong idea that consuming whiskey with friends is an acceptable and enjoyable social behaviour through posters and pamphlets. Such promotions disregard or dismiss the negative impacts caused by alcohol. As an example,authorities in Thailand issued a regulation that television commercials for liquor can only be aired after ten o’clock in the evening to prevent children from being swayed by them. In conclusion, alcohol abuse causes much harm to our physical and mental well-being and the exposure to any publicity on those drinks should be either reduced or limited.