Some people feel that equality between the genders has already been achieved while others feel there is considerable progress to be made. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is considered by some people that women today are treated as equally as men while others think that gender equality has yet to be achieved. Although women have indeed been given more respect and opportunities, as well as more rights as a citizen and men can act in the way they desire, women are still disadvantaged in some cultures and when it comes to making purchases. It is apparently undeniable that to some extent, women have been treated with more esteem in recent decades. The most significant evidence for this is their rights to vote, to run for elections and to be elected. Had it been centuries ago, women would not be allowed to acquire knowledge and receive education, let alone vote or be in high authority like many do now. Another example of gender equality having been attained is that stereotypes like “strong”, “should act menly” or “should not cry” are no longer imposed on men. As a result, they are now free to live in the way they wish, meaning they could be gently or vulnerable without being criticised. Having been given as many rights as men regarding societal activities, women are still looked down on in some cultures. For instance, in some remote areas in Vietnam, daughters and wives are not permitted to eat before the male members of their families finish their meal. In addition to that, they are usually beaten up and tortured when they do not satisfy their fathers or husbands. It should also be noticed that products aimed at women tend to have a higher price compared to those with the same function but for men. As a consequence, they have to pay much more money for their necessities, which is totally unfair. For example, in the USA, despite being necessary, tampons and other period products are taxed up to 35%, putting many women with low income at a disadvantage since they cannot afford such a basic need. In conclusion, while both women and men have been treated the same recently, gender equality have not been fully achieved as many women are still mistreated in their family and by companies.