Nowadays some parents pressure their children to be successful in a specific field. What are the the reasons for this? Is this a positive or negative development?

Most parents nowadays emphasize on success with their next generation due to their own definition of " love " and "responsibility", yet this belief may create detrimental impacts to our fragile next generation. On one perspective, some people demonstrate their love by nurturing their kids to be successful in specific field. Their concept of love is to provide the best and help build a future of fortune for their next generation. Therefore, pushing their children to or even exceed their limits in certain field is deemed essential to their future well-being and is considered as the showcase of love. This is often associated with emotional blackmail. On the other hand, parental responsibility also plays a role here when putting pressure on children to success is considered part of their parental duty. In particular, younsters are developing, implying that they lack the maturity to make informed decision on their lives. Parents, by then, feel the need to guide young people to the "right track" by preparing and cultivating them for the future success. This phenomenon also gives rise to the appreciation of Asian Tiger Mothers which the related book becomes one of the global best sellers. Nonetheless, these stresses put on the kids' shoulders often deteriorate their psychological well-being, if not leading to psychological diseases. It is not rare to hear a surge in depression rate among young children. Simultaneuously, more kids are committing suicides nowadays. Therefore, this development is obviously doing more harms than goods. In conclusion, forcing our own wish or future aspirations to our next generation shall never be encouraged in relation to all of the above-mentioned negative consequences.