In some cultures, children are often told they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

In some countries, children are taught that with hard work and practice, they will achieve goals. In my view, this message has the potential to inspire and motivate children, however, it can cause delusion and disappointment. Teaching children to strive for success has numerous advantages. Firstly, the message is a tool to help cultivate a sense of self-assurance and motivation in children and make them become a better version of themselves. Many young individuals hesitate to step out of their comfort zone because they do not believe in their abilities. Encouragement from parents and teachers makes children aware that they can attain anything with effort and determination. For example, if a child wants to learn a new skill or participate in an activity that they are not yet proficient in and lack confidence in, they will try more because they have faith in themselves and can overcome it with effort and perseverance. Another positive affect is the habit of never giving up, which is most required of successful people. They will work persistently, try tirelessly, and be willing to find ways to work more efficiently. There are several disadvantages to giving children this information. Sometimes, some jobs and dreams do not guarantee success if they work hard. Diligence is an admirable trait, but it will also cause children to be disappointed in jobs where diligence only plays a small role. For instance, one of the necessary factors for becoming a professional editor is a good, clear, and fluent voice. Unfortunately, this job has become more arduous for individuals with speech problems such as lisps or stuttering. The second negative impact is that giving the message to be a hard-working person too frequently can affect their mental health. Many of them might feel overwhelmed and pressured by their tasks. This can make them mentally tired and result in frustration, disillusionment, or even mental disorder. Moreover, children may misunderstand and consider achievement as competition. Instead of working hard for themselves, they do it to gain approval from adults. In conclusion, the idea that teaching children to work hard will always result in success is a great way to motivate them to overcome hardship. Nevertheless, such teaching may lead to undesirable outcomes in situations where trying hard enough is not the key.