Some people believe that it is best to accept a bad situation, such as an unsatisfied job or shortage of money. Others argue that it is better to try and improve such situations. Discuss both these views and give your own opinon.

Facing difficult situation, different people take actions distinctly, varying from risk-avoidance to risk-aversion approach. In my opinion, striving for better is always in favor against being static. The below essay will further investigate into both sides of the views and elaborate on my stance. Some people prefer to accept the current situation because of potential unknowns and their incapability to impact the macro-environment. COVID lock down would be a prime example of this kind of uncontrollable situation. No matter how hard the individuals tried to improve the lock down situation, they were still restricted by the laws and governmental policy. Therefore, they choose to thrive under this bad situation instead of putting any efforts on changing the policy. Nonetheless, people with growth mindset are more willing to better their circumstances. Armed with the confidence, at least paying efforts would be able to make a difference if not the result will always and only be the continuous suffering. Despite, for example, the announced top-down COVID policy, they can proactively seek changes by using media or sending letters to communicate with the government - in the hope of reconsideration of the official COVID strategy. As a consequence, the home-staying restriction is lifted now and the government decides to co-exist with the virus. Therefore, in my opinion, we all shall have the courage to challenge our status quo in order to reach a higher quality of life. Even though some may argue that sometimes a worsening situation may come with the changes, the same is also valid - the situation may be improved by the individual effort. Because of this unknown, we should try even harder to achieve the status we have longed for. In conclusion, the lmiiting belief may discourage people from making any move and cope with difficulties while risk takers prefer to bet for a better future by taking actions. I am a strong advocate of the latter point of view. Only by taking actions, changes will come.