In a number of countries some prople think it is necessary to spend large sums of the money on constructing new railway linesfor very fast trains between cities. Otherss believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There is an ongoing debate regarding the ways to improve the effectiveness of the public transport system. While some people believe that the state should spend money to construct new railway lines for fast trains, others claim that such funds should be used to improve the existing transport systems. I believe that a balanced approach will enhance the efficiency of public transportation systems. This essay will discuss both views and my opinion in detail. On the one hand, the construction of new railway lines for fast trains has ample benefits. To begin with, such facilities help people to get around easily without worrying about the possibility of getting stuck in traffic. Furthermore, it makes travel faster and efficient even during peak hours which allows them to get anywhere on time. For example, in India, the introduction of a metro rail system has reduced the congestion issue in many cities. As a result, the number of cars on the roads was reduced significantly which had a positive effect on the environment. On the other hand, some people argue that funds should be allocated to improve the existing system. That is to say that, without spending a fortune, policymakers can invest in increasing the frequency of buses and trains which would benefit the public in many ways. Moreover, the increase in the number of cycle lanes will reduce the ongoing traffic issues instead of constructing new railway lines as it takes more time and resources. For instance, it is evident that the construction of metro lines in India took ages in order to finish the project in India which has caused major inconvenience to the masses. In conclusion, although there are different opinions regarding the spending of funds to improve the efficiency of public transportation, I believe that the government should follow a balanced approach and allocate a proper budget to handle the existing enhancements and further developments.