Schools should focus on academic success and passing examinations. Skills such as cookery, dressmaking and woodwork should not be taught at school as it is better to learn these from family and friends. To that extent do you agree or disagree.

Nowadays, a wide range of subjects are taught at school. However, some people think practical lessons, such as cookery, dressmaking and woodwork in which students can learn at home, should be deleted from the lesson schedule. Personally, I do not agree with this stance, and the following content will list the reasons. Several students could not learn certain skills from their family members. For example, because of the busy lifestyle, more families prefer to eat out rather than cook by themselves. Therefore, children in this type of family have no chance of learning cooking. Similarly, whose parents are not good at knitting clothes, gardening and wood chopping, so their kids need to learn these skills at school. In addition, it will have more fun while learning with other teenagers and sharing their success. As for the families which are master in these skills, students can learn different techniques with their friends in the campus. For instance, there are several methods to make a bread and each way can make delicious and different type of bread. Nevertheless, while baking a bread at home, due to the limitation of the equipment, children might only know a few types of pastry. In contrast, school usually have more space and utensils which makes students can learn more types and knowledge of the bakery. In conclusion, practical lessons at school can provide a chance for every student to learn the knowledge which is not taught by their families. In my opinion, we should not derive these skillful classes from the lesson schedule.