In their advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasise that their productcts are new in some way. Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

For advertising purposes, company often market their product as always having something new, this is needed for the company to keep catching up to their competitor. From my opinion this is something that need to be encouraged. With the advance of technology, the differences between product is becoming more and more subtle, especially for the product that basically serve the same purposes, for example the purposes of a mobile phone is to communicate, so to make their mobile phone better, company need to keep adding feature to their phone, like camera, video recording, high speed internet etc. Until at one point they run out of major features to add, and from this point the competition is in the small detail, such as our product have the telephoto camera, our product have a superior image stabilization etc. The company need to make sure that their product stand out from the competition so the customer knows that they are making the best product. Furthermore, with the company feeling needed to introduce something new in their product, the one who will benefit the most from it is the final customer. Competition in business is always good for customer, as we can get the best product with the minimum price to pay. For example, with the rise of cheap smartphone manufacturer from China like Xiaomi who can manufacture a good phone with decent price, this have forced the big manufacturer like Samsung to produce a smartphone which can compete with Xiaomi, in the end customer now have much broader choice of phone with sensible price. In conclusion, the tendency of company to market their product to have something different from their competitor is very positive development as the competition between manufacturer force their product to be better and in the end it is the customer who reaps the benefit from this.