Tourism is one of the fastest growing industries and contributes a great deal to economies around the world. However, the damage tourism can cause to local cultures and the environment is often ignored. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, tourism has become one of the most rapidly growing industries worldwide which has a huge impact on the government’s economy. However, tourist visits may affect the host countries negatively by influencing local culture, traditions and nature. In this article, I will support both sides of the coin. On the one hand, tourists bring a lot of advantages for countries where their trip lies. The sightseer presence can boost host countries ' economies, for example, by purchasing souvenirs and shopping in local stores, renting apartments to stay in. Also, travellers broaden people’s minds about other countries ' cultures by communicating with locals. However, there are still some drawbacks that tourists can bring with them. On the other hand, the worst drawback is that the influx of tourists can lead to a loss of cultural authenticity and surroundings. For instance, the visitors of some European countries usually do not follow the tradition of covering their heads when they travel to such Muslim countries as UAE or Bahrain. As a result, people make locals feel uncomfortable. Another example is physical damage that comes from tourists of some significant types of trees as Sacura in Japan during its blossom. In conclusion, although the economy is developed by the tourism sector I do not believe that citizens of the host countries are optimistic about tourists.