Many people keep dogs and cats as companions. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of pet ownership for the animals involved and for the community as a whole.

It is true that many people prevalent to treat cats and dogs as pets. This trend could brings certain benefits based on providing animals living conditions and creating great attitudes toward others, but there are also some drawbacks such as facing up with bad management and overpopulation for the animals themselves and the society as a whole. On the one hand, certain merits to the animals and the community can be offered by having pets. Firstly, people can feed and give them better living conditions than wandering in the streets. Being wild animals means they might deal with lethal health risks and competition with other animals. Some studies have shown that many dogs and cats are recorded as dead because of diseases from microorganisms and the fight against other wild creatures to acquire food. Secondly, treating pets may give pet owners a sense of taking care of others. Public can learn about patience, calm and sympathy through the ways they take care of cats or dogs. For instance, when pets break the furniture or decorations, people could learn about forgiveness and patience since getting frustrated at pets serves no purpose. On the other hand, having cats and dogs as companions causes several demerits to the animals and community. One disadvantage is animals may suffer from cruel treatment. It may be starved and hit by brutal pet-sitters. As an example, many people choose to thrash their pets as a way of relieving stress after a back-breaking day, so it leads to physical and mental problems. In addition, cats and dogs can create noise and damage the environment. These animals may overbreed which creating noise pollution, and distasteful for neighbors. Moreover, the more animals, the more waste is created, which results in the pressure on landfills, waste disposal and the environment. In conclusion, although pet ownership offers a place to the animals and a sense of caring for others, it also deteriorates the pollution and animals may have to face up with aggressive treatments.