Detailed descriptions of crimes on newspaper and TV can have bad consequences on society, so this kind of information should be restricted on media. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

In today’s society, many detailed crime descriptions flood newspapers and TV. In my opinion, although the dissemination could lead to negative influences on society, an outright ban on this kind of information should not be imposed on mass media altogether. It is beyond doubt that massive descriptions of crimes in detail can have negative influences on society. Firstly, this can be detrimental to children's growth. This is because the details of crime normally carry numerous questionable contents, including bloodiness and violence, and are considerably widespread through mass media like newspapers and TV on a repetitive basis, which have adverse impacts on children’s growth in a long run. Secondly, the broad exposure of crime descriptions in mass media may potentially result in youth crime. This is because that teenagers might be vulnerable to imitate negative behaviors from what they have seen from media. For example, the popularity of a series of gangster movies titled “Gu Huozai” caused many teenagers to imitate the plots of the movie, becoming gang members to do many illegal things such as theft and robbery. Therefore, crime details in mass media do have bad consequences on our society. However, taking into account the aforementioned viewpoints does not necessarily yield an absolute conclusion that this kind of information should be forbidden in media for all. Acknowledging the latest criminal means through newspapers and TV could warn people to be precautionary, as a large number of people get information from the platform of media. So appropriate dissemination must be allowed. In conclusion, it is undeniable that detailed crime descriptions in mass media may have bad effects on society. However, it does not inherently guarantee an indisputable view that we should restrict such information altogether.