Some people say that advertising is extremely successful at persuading us to buy things. Other people think that advertising is so common that we no longer pay attention to it. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In the marketing field, advertising is a step known to have the purpose of engaging people to the products. The goal of every ads is to be able to convert this engagement into sales, where people make purchases. Some people believe that advertisement will help the brand gain bigger sales. However as it has become more common, it does not have that much impact now. Personally, I believe the different views of advertisement today are both valid because of some reasons which will be furtherly explained in this essay. In the old times, products or campaigns were usually introduced through limited ways or modes, mostly through radio, billboard, or TV. This used to be an impactful move to raise people ’s awareness towards the brand and finally buy the products. For example, putting a sportswear ad after a sports game on TV would persuade the audience to make their purchases. Another example is when we, as the audience, see an instant seasonings ad after a cooking show. This types of advertisement will surely have a significant influence on people because it is shown in the right situation where people are already engaged in the context. However, in the social media era now, the advertising mode has became more varied. Sometimes, it could even be “annoying” for some people because once they are engaged with the ads, it will follow them everywhere. Let’s take an example of F&B products. Occasionally, we need to find where to get a delicious good-looking birthday cake through the Internet. The search engine will surely gives us many options for us to choose, but they will also record our interest in the product that we just looked up. As a result, we will keep getting ads from bakery shops that meet our interest for a while, like a day or more. Those bakery shops will probably haunt us in whatever online platforms we open. According to the two POVs, I respectfully understand why some people think that advertisement is not as impactful as it used to be in the past. At the same time, it is also a good move for brands to advertise their products in order to meet a wider market. Thus, as an advertiser, it is very important to promote the products in a smart way where the audience will get persuaded and the targeted sales will be reach.