As more and more information is available online, the role of textbooks has become obsolete. Therefore, universities should replace traditional books with digital materials. Do the advantages of this situation outweigh the disadvantages?

In the digital age, where access to vast amounts of information is almost available through the internet, the role of textbooks in educational institutions has become less prominent. However, there are many who argue that digital books present challenges for effective study. Despite these concerns, I believe the benefits of this situation significantly outweigh the drawbacks, offering a substantial improvement in the level of knowledge acquisition. One of the primary advantages of e-books is their convenience and portability. Many people can hold millions of digital materials on their phones, tablets or computers, making access to educational content more flexible. Furthermore, Universities utilize digital databases for their teachers whose everywhere can connect to the system in order to sort students or check their academic performance. Similarly, it is significantly inexpensive for institutions, for instance, one book can replicated as many times as possible for every group where amount of students more than 15. Therefore, using e-books in universities has positive effect both on students and teachers. On the other hand, digital resources might be uncomfortable for students who are unfamiliar with current technology. While many have grown accustomed to learning on the network, others may struggle with technological illiteracy. It would create conflict between students and teachers if universities abolished printed books.On top of that, even among people there are capable of using computers, reading long texts on a screen can be a strenuous and uncomfortable experience. Therefore, these disadvantages can lead to divide between people, especially in universities. To sum up, I believe the usefulness of e-books trumps the downsides. They are convenient to store and transport, comparatively inexpensive, and come with several extra features. These merits should outweigh the difficulties faced by some students when using digital books.