The working week should be shorter and workers should have a longer weekend. Do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, there has been an ongoing debate about whether the working week should be shorter so that workers have more days at the weekend or not. I believe that employees deserve to have longer weekends. To begin with, jobs create distance between people and their loved ones. Nowadays people tend to work more than 12 hours a day for 5 days a week. These employees have been spending all morning and night at work; throughout the day they did not have the chance to see or even speak with their family, and that is enough to make a significant backdrop in their relationships. For example, there was a study at Oxford University about the effect of work on the relationship between a dad and his daughter; it was shown that daughters who grow up with busy fathers suffer from difficulty expressing their feelings. An additional reason for my stance is that they will have time to arrange their lives outside work.Most individuals do not have time to take care of their health or to spend time with their family. If they get more days at the weekends, they will have time to exercise in the park or visit their relatives. Moreover, their work can be done more professionally and they will still have time for other activities.In 2016, BBC News published research about the relationship between worker’s mental health and the amount of working hours; it was shown that employees who work more suffer from stress and anxiety. Therefore, the quality of work did not satisfy their employers. Hence, less working days better workers. To conclude, the advantages of minimising the working week not only impact positively on employees but also the workspace.I think that is a primary reason to agree with that idea.