The media should limit how much bad news they report because it discourages people from doing activities which usually involve very little risks. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The availability of unpleasant news in the media such as television and internet should not be exposed too much since it demotivates people from executing daily activities which have bad effects. In this essay, I strongly disagree with the statement due to some reasons. Media should be allowed to report any news regardless unpleasant materials because it is part of freedom of speech. Media is a platform that delivers valid information to society and is supported by the idea of human rights in conveying various opinions. For instance, today many journalists in Gaza, Palestine frequently post horrible news such as babies injured, killed, and buried under the rubbles and this should be backed since it is the way to show the world what is currently occurring there. Another reason why the media should not be restricted to broadcast awful news is because it can help people to be careful of their surroundings. People tend to be worried with the situations that they observe and witness directly hence the existence of unfavorable news makes us always aware. For example, the case of terrorism will lead to awareness of society to be cautious. Sometimes, terrorists' faces are shown in the media. As a result, people may acknowledge the faces and they are able to avoid them. In conclusion, media such as television, internet and social networking should not be restricted due to freedom of speech in revealing any information and increase the awareness of people to hinder such unfavorable news that has been published.