Today it is common practice for many business meetings and training to take place online. Do the advantages of this new development outweigh the disadvantages

It is indeed true that a common method for many business meetings and training is taking place on online platforms. However, this essay will articulate some of the pros and cons behind this phenomenon. On the brighter side, several factors are associated with it, but the main one is that the online meetings are cost-effective. To elaborate, in today's technological age, individuals save the cost of their travel from their home to their workplace as well as they save their accommodation expenses. For instance, a survey was conducted by Oxford University which revealed that 9 out of 10 working people are saving their money, while attending the online sessions. Secondly, they also receive a recorded video for better progress and for those who missed the live event. So, they learn from it while sitting in their comfort zone. Lastly, this also reduces the volume of traffic on roads because most of the people who are working navigate in their personal vehicles which promotes traffic jam. On the darker side, the main disadvantage of this method is the lack of security and privacy. To illustrate, nowadays firm's information is being shared with their competitors over the Internet. For instance, an article published in the renowned newspaper 'The Moscow Times' in 2013 highlighted that 60 per cent of data such as blueprints, strategies and others are leaked which has detrimental effects on businesses. Apart from this, people also face difficulties in maintaining attention towards their meetings or training sessions due to distractions in the home or remote environment. In conclusion, a number of modifications have taken place in the business sector, yet there are a number of advantages of this development which outweigh the disadvantages such as online methods are cost-effective, reduce the volume of traffic and others.