People think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others believe that there are other alternative solutions for reducing crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion on this topic

Other people are of the view that sentencing offenders to a long time in prison is the most viable solution to ameliorate crime while some believe that paying of fines and providing counselling services could be considered as better solutions. However, I believe that making crime doers to be reprimanded in prison is a noble idea. To begin with, putting individuals who go against the law in prison for a while is considered to be the panacea to crime. This is because in most cases human beings learn more if they are put in a conjucive environment. To elaboate further, taking murders for example, subjecting them in jail conditions will help them to understand that what they did was not correct. It will also help in reducing further crimes mainly due to the fact that the offender will be in jail. I believe this helps a lot in crime reduction. On the other hand, allowing offenders to pay exorbitant bail fines can also assist in lessening the occurance of crimes in societies. It is important to note that in some cases, if the person is made to pay large sums of money for crimes they would have committed, it might help in bring awareness. To most people money is not easy to find, hence this could also make an impact in reducing crimes. More importantly, providing counseling services to crime doers can also make a positive impact to communities. However, it should be noted that the mentioned methods can only work if the nature of the crime committed is not serious for example killing of people, robbing banks to mention only a few. In conclusion, giving offenders an opportunity to pay high amount of bail fines and offering counselling services to them might help in dealing with crime issues. However, locking criminals in prison for longer periods proves to be the most reliable way especially if we are to consider very serious offences such as killing of people or armed robbery cases.