In many countries, children are becoming overweight and unhealthy. Some people think that the government has the responsibility to solve this problem. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is a common belief that kids are being overweight and having un healthy diet and the government has to tackle this issue. While i agree that this perception is somewhat justifiable, i still believe that there are other factors that have impacts on our decisions. It is true that the government could take concrete actions to have healthy and balanced-nutrition for each students in their schools. First and foremost, children are still quite young, so they do not have enough knowledge and finances to pay attention to a nutritious diet, they only eat what is given to them by their parents and adults. In addition, the government needs to make policies to support schools with doctors providing regular dietary consultation for individual development. Secondly, the government could reduce taxes and prices for healthy products so people could buy more to serve a quality life. For example, in America, fast food is usually more expensive than healthy food, so people with financial difficulties or expanded families often buy fast food for their children, so they always are being overweight. Nevertheless, i would argue that the children themselves and their parents are responsible for this issue because of several reasons. Chief among these is that parents are the people who understand their children better than ever. Moreover, they are the ones who buy and allow their children to eat mainly in a day so they need to know exactly what is good for them. The second reason is that children themselves prefer things that appeal to their taste rather than things that are good for health and weight, such as candy and fast food. If they cannot control what they eat, not only will it increase their weight, but also cause dangerous diseases later on. In conclusion, while it is irrefutable that their parents and the children themselves need to be responsible for controlling weight quickly and eating unhealthy foods, the government also should be responsible in this matter.