The increase use of mobile phone and computers makes people lose the ability to communicate face to face. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Contemporary society has progressively shifted to the greater reliance on digital communication rather than in-person communication. The enhanced usage of electronics has caused people to depend on social media and social networking platforms for digital communication. I completely agree with this view and this essay will detail why. To begin with, social media has influenced the increased preference of online correspondence. Such sites encourage people to rely on texting which is based on non-verbal cues. This form of connection can result in miscommunications as people cannot refer to facial expressions and voice tones. For example, teenagers nowadays prefer texting on social media platforms rather than physically gathering because texting is quicker and requires less social and mental effort. Therefore, people have more readily favored social media communication due to its convenience. Furthermore, a large number of people have gradually lost the ability to communicate in-person considering they believe digital communication is more efficient for working purposes. Telecommunication can allow students and employees to multitask while conducting online meetings and seminars. This enables individuals to be more productive without having to waste time by physically attending to their responsibilities. For instance, COVID-19 has strengthened the dependence on virtual learning as students and teachers prefer to conduct lessons from home while simultaneously working on academic and personal tasks. Consequently, people may steadily lose the ability to interact directly considering the declining opportunities they have to engage and implement their social skills. In conclusion, the enhanced utilization of electronics has led people to the reliance on digital communication which has resulted in their successive incapability of one-on-one interactions. Mainstream society must learn how to limit their technological dependency for improved balance of their social and personal lives.