Nowadays anyone can post news on the internet. As a result, we cannot trust information we read there. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The internet has become the predominant aspect of our lives. Everyone has access to and the ability to post any news article online but trusting that information is debatable. I completely agree with the viewpoint that the information online is untrustworthy. On one hand, with the rapid growth in digitalisation, the internet has become a part of our daily lives. It has become affordable and necessary in every household across the globe. As a result, every individual has free access to build their websites and accounts on social platforms such as Facebook, TikTok and YouTube. With such accessibility, many people post different blogs voicing their opinions or publish news articles. This data may or may not be derived from various research and interviews. However, a person has their fundamental "right to express" and they do so on a global platform to attract larger audiences from different parts of the world. To gain some publicity or views, fake news and reports are also created on these platforms, as a result, not all information on the Internet is reliable. On the other hand, this technological revolution has created many companies on digital platforms that scam people for money. We are so dependable on online platforms and save a lot of critical information, for example, our bank account details, that it attracts scammers to access all our finances. Also, some websites advertise false prizes, in order to, access our personal information which later can be used to breach our privacy. For instance, a kidnapper may be able to access our address which can result in life dangers. In short, the internet provides opportunities for people to misuse others' information for their own benefit. To conclude, I strongly believe as the internet has become cost-effective, anyone can afford to use it and publish data that cannot be trusted. Also, broadband has become a market for scammers to misuse others' personal information to rob them.