The most effective way to solve the current traffic and pollution problems in cities is to encourage people to move from the suburbs or country into the city center. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Big cities are all about crowded streets, tall buildings, and a constant hum of life. Undoubtedly, people relocate because there is a plethora of opportunities in the cities compared to suburbs or rural areas but this huge influx has caused rising concerns such as traffic congestion and increased pollution in the cities. The proponents believe, by encouraging people to move from suburbs to the city center could help curb pollution and traffic congestion. This is because the city center has better commutation facilities, infrastructure and public transport system. In contrast, the critiques of the idea perceive it differently and they argue that the existing infrastructure of the city center has its capacity limitations and over burdening it would be counterproductive. They further suggest investing in expanding the road network, improving infrastructure, providing access to subsidized public transport system, encouraging car-pooling services etcetera would be a much better and permanent solution to the aforementioned problem. In addition to that, if the government ensures availability of modern amenities and creates employment opportunities for the people living in suburbs / rural areas, it would minimize the need for them to relocate and thus, significantly reducing the huge influx of people into the cities. In conclusion, thorough study with extensive urban planning is required to address and mitigate such issues. Concrete steps must be taken such as uplifting the lifestyle of suburban residents and investing in city infrastructure would prove to be fruitful in the long run.