In the past, when students did a university degree, they tended to study in their own country. Nowadays, they have more opportunity to study abroad. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development?

Few decades ago, when pupils completed their college degree, they used to join further studies in their own nation, but these days they have more chance to study overseas. This essay will examine various benefits as well as drawbacks of studying in foreign countries. Examining the brighter side of learning in abroad, firstly students will get high quality of education in other words, the education focus more on practical learning rather than theoretical learning where the content are very high standard. For example, in Nepal the hotel management course covers more theoretical, whereas in Switzerland the same course includes more practical knowledge. Secondly, the students get chance to increase their knowledge, experience, skills, confident and exposure. As a result, they can get job easily in the national and international market compared to the students who did their college in their home country. On the contrary, there are darker sides of studying abroad. To begin with, the cost of studying overseas is very expensive. Because of this, student have to invest a lot of money by selling their properties for education. For instance, the tuition fee of a normal university in Australia is three times more than the colleges in Nepal. Besides this, the students may feel homesick as they will be far from their friends, families and relatives. Furthermore, in some countries the local people may not be welcoming as well as the teachers may not be cooperative. In conclusion, there are both merits as well as demerits of studying abroad. While, quality of education and international exposure are the advantages, whereas expensive tuition fess and unusual society are the disadvantages.