Nowadays, not enough students choose science subjects in university in many countries. What are the reasons for this problem? What are the effects on society?

These days, in plenty of countries a small number of students decide to study science as their subject at university. The main causes of this relate to the way of teaching in universities, which can have a significant impact on society. There are a couple of reasons why this is happening. Firstly, the program used in tertiary education can be old-fashioned and that is why many students tend to avoid it. Science is a field, which develops at a very high pace, so the approach used in universities must also be altered in order to give youngsters up-to-date knowledge. For instance, in my country, science programs in universities rarely change over the years and therefore, students choose other subjects. Secondly, there is an incredible thing called the Internet, which allows people to learn almost anything, including science. As a result, many students choose to learn science with the help of the global net, rather than higher education. This issue can have serious consequences and one of them is a decrease in the number of specialists in science. In our rapidly changing world, science takes a major place in global development, so the reduction of proficient individuals can significantly decrease the advancement of society. For example, the lack of science specialists can affect new discoveries and research in many fields, such as medicine, economy, mathematics and much more. To conclude, the reduction in the number of students choosing science in universities poses a significant threat to the development of society. However, dealing with some reasons that stand behind this can change everything.