In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this idea?

In some societies, kids are usually told that they are able to achieve any goal if they try hard enough. In this essay, the advantages and the disadvantages will be discussed and used for final judgment. There is a significant benefit to an adolescent being convinced by such a statement. In this situation, the kid is going to put more effort, because they will believe, that their work will pay off in the future. For instance, in the 1990s, the experiment compared students, who considered their natural talent as the source of their success, and ones, who believed that their good results came from their efforts. The investigation concluded with an observation, that the latter pupils tend to perform better. Therefore, the child will more likely end up as a fully developed adult with a successful career. On the other hand, there is a considerable drawback to such persuasion. Unfortunately, this opinion completely ignores the biological abilities of a person by assuming, that the young person is able to infinitely push boundaries of what is possible (which is not true). This can lead to some unhealthy amounts of work done and pain endured by an adolescent. As a result, the individual may experience burnout, depression and psychological trauma during adulthood. As an example, a child who is forced to study a field in which they are not interested will hence end up in a mental crisis due to constant stress and lack of motivation from an occupation that does not suit their interests. In conclusion, telling your own sons and daughters that everything is possible if a lot of effort is put in is generally beneficial to their mindset. However, if this concept is taken too far the nasty consequences, which were mentioned above, might emerge.