Some people believe that social networking sites have a considerably detrimental effect on individuals and society. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people opine that social platforms pose a negative impact on people and the community. I wholeheartedly agree with the former perspective for the following reasons. To begin with, social media is detrimental to the general well-being of users. Specifically, it fosters unhealthy lifestyles because of the huge amount of time they spend gluing their eyes to the screen. As a result, people who are addicted to mobile phones tend to be short-sighted, and their physical well-being is also adversely affected. Moreover, youngsters might lose their confidence as influencers and celebrities tend to show them the positive aspects of their success instead of the hindrances they have to overcome. Therefore, they can lower the self-esteem of users as they naively believe that they do not deserve better things and end up in desperation. In addition, such sites can have negative impacts on society because of their misinformation. In fact, these days, plenty of information in various fields is exchanged on the Internet while the majority of it is not verified by authoritative departments. As a consequence, people with a high level of exposure to these sources might be misled, leading to chaos and crisis in society. For instance, fake news about vaccines that have significant side effects on people ’s health made people hesitant and resist using them, which created various obstacles to the process of fighting against Coronavirus in many countries. In conclusion, social media not only negatively affects individuals’ well-being but also poses various detrimental influences on society as it can disturb the harmony of community.