Some people say that outdoor activities bring benefits to children's development rather than computer games, to what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is sometimes argued that children should spend their leisure time on participating in outdoor entertainment that is more effective than video games. While it is undeniable about the merits of playing computer games, I personally believe that outdoor activities would bring more positive impacts on school students as a whole. On the one hand, there are several benefits on computer games about both mental health and development of logical thinking ability. Firstly, after hectic lessons with numerous challenging tests, it is a great way to gain a sense of relaxation immediately. As a result, they could release almost pressure in their mind, leading to refreshing energy to other activities. Secondly, engaging in online game matches with their friends not only is a form of entertainment but also gives them some opportunities to improve their skills such as teamwork, problem solving, time management or even interaction skill. Consequently, youngsters could be equipped with diverse skills before entering the labor market, which they would encounter a wide range of difficulties. On the other hand, I argue that taking part in activities outside would offer other additional advantages besides playing computer games. From a short-term perspective, it allows their family to join these activities together, resulting in increasing their face-to-face connection. A good example of this is that by participating in various forms of recreation like football, badminton and shuttlecock, … they will be more likely to build up their relationship as a way to enjoy their family life. Form a long-term perspective, an energetic lifestyle would enable them to keep fit and stay healthy, which is much more beneficial than a sedentary lifestyle. Indeed, with the increasing frequency of entertainment outside, their health tends to improve significantly and could avoid a wide range of risks related to cardiovascular, obesity or even cancer. In conclusion, from what I have discussed above, leisure activities play an important in the development of schoolchildren. Instead of immersing in totally video games, children should have a priority on outdoor sports to enhance both the mental and physical health.