Children have more and more tests and exams to do at school, sometimes starting from the age of five or six, right up until the age of 18. What are the advantages and disadvantages of making children do exams?

In this day and age, it is accepted by society that children should take examinations at their respective schools. However, an opinion is becoming more popular, stating that tests actually do nothing useful and only stress out kids while preparing for it. In this essay, I'm going to look at pros and cons of such tests. Starting off with the main advantage: taking exams from students help schools grade children in each subject. What I mean by this is that schools will know which students are good at specific subjects, and in which subjects they are struggling with. For example, a pupil may be good at mathematics, but bad at P.E. And so, teachers will help that kid to improve more at P.E. Continuing on, the second biggest advantage is the governments may know which schools are best at educating. Schools will compete more with each other, and thus improving the education program. Also, this might be helpful for the parents when they're looking for a future school for their child. Turning to the other side of the coin, the primary disadvantage of taking examinations is the stress. All children around the world experience stress when they're preparing for exams. If the results are disasterous, there's a probability that a student may become depressed. Secondly, even if we look at today's world, the exams are often useless. It's a headache for teachers, students, and even principals. In a country "Finland" there are no exams in schools, but they are considered as one of the best teaching schools in the world. In conclusion, there are upsides and downsides in taking tests. Exams may help improve the education system, but they stress out students and teachers. In my opinion, schools should reduce the number of exams that are taken by students.