The use of social media, e.g. Facebook and Twitter, is replacing face-to-face contact for many people in everyday life. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

These days, face-to-face communication is replaced by online communication with using social media such as Facebook and Twitter. In my opinion, the prevalence of it in communication has many significant benefits. First of all, online community limitations still exist. One downside of that is social networks creates a feeling of superficiality and isolation in relationships. While face-to-face allows everyone to connect real feelings, online contact can lead to the deterioration of meaningful relationships between individuals. However, this negative impact can be minimized if individuals try to reach a balance between virtual and physical communication. This is really crucial to maintain healthy relationships, relaxed spirit and sense of community. On the other hand, digital communication tools provide numerous benefits related to connection and information availability. One advantage of social media is that it is a method of connecting with friends, family, and relatives. For instance, overseas students can talking with each other through the video call feature of Skype or other apps which traditional communication cannot. This leads to improved social connections. Another benefit of social media is that it enhances information accessibility. For example, Twitter play a role as a news source about events all around the world and updated in real time. In conclusion, although using social media cannot bring authenticity as face-to-face can, these social networking platforms serve as powerful tools to help improve relationships, especially long-distance and facilitate the exchange of knowledge. When everyone learn how to use social networks consciously, I strongly believe this development will offers more benefits.