Many people leave the countryside for the greater opportunities which are offered by cities. This move is not without disadvantages for both people and the environment. What are some benefits and drawbacks of urbanization?

An increasing number of people migrate from rural areas to urban ones in the hope of a better life. Firstly, People migrate from small towns to avail of better opportunities, for a better standard of living. Urban areas are filled with countless factories, and companies that provide employee with suitable income to their employees. Secondly, Convenience is one of the many reasons people decide to move to a city. People can simply access to services like healthcare, education, and others that they might not have had in a rural area Finally, The options for students seeking a better education are scarce in small towns because rural areas don’t have many schools to choose from. Public and private schools, for example, are more numerous and more varied in metropolis. However, urbanization has led to a higher density of the demographic, which results in many problems. The first problem, urban dwellers have to deal with is traffic congestion and overcrowded. The second problem, an increase in the number of inhabitants in cities leads to an increase in the demand for rent or purchase housing, which can create accommodation issues. The last problem, fewer workers in the production results in decreased production of crops, further enhancing the price. For instance, India is witnessing a devastating effect due to a shortage of food. In a nutshell, moving from rural to urban areas is a reality that nations around the globe are facing.