AT THE PRESENT TIME, THE POPULATION OF SOME COUNTRIES INCLUDES A RELATIVELY LARGE NUMBER OF YOUNG ADULTS, COMPARED WITH THE NUMBER OF OLDER PEOPLE. DO THE ADVANTAGES OF THIS SITUATION OUTWEIGH THE DISADVANTAGES?

These days, people aged between 18 and 26 seem to be outnumbering their older counterparts in a few countries of the world. This phenomenon, I perceive, is more likely to be positive given the potential contribution of those young adults to workplaces, healthcare and the overall nature of a country. Apparently, one of the main plus points of having a large young population in a country is that society does not have to be worried about the next generation of the workforce. In other words, the young adults they have now can shape a young abundant workforce, which has some promising impacts on workplaces. Young staff, obviously, bring new values such as new more effective ways of problem-solving and wider perspectives to the job market with themselves. As a result, when their skills and experience that match the modern demands of the modern world are fully harnessed, it would boost work efficiency leading to numerous improvements in almost all fields ranging from businesses to politics. What is more, the fewer old members and more young members the society has, the less strain it puts on its healthcare systems. Because the "costly" health problems like heart diseases, diabetes, high blood pressure and many other chronic illnesses are less present in the community, the government can stand a better chance to channel most of its investments and focus into other crucial areas including education, public services and so on. On the other hand, the higher proportion of young individuals in the total population might pose a concerning threat to the general welfare of a nation in some way. This, for example, can be seen in the increasing rates of crime, primarily in underdeveloped and developing states across the globe. Besides, if the number of youngsters - those who graduated from secondary schools rises, it is no wonder that the need for proper higher institutes will grow at an unprecedented speed. For that matter, governments have to use all possible financial resources to meet that skyrocketing need or it will simply add to the unskilled and unqualified population. However, once the majority of young people are provided with a decent university or college education - when governments manage to respond to that demand, possible crimes committed by young individuals may be prevented or reduced to some extent, I think. In conclusion, I believe the positive changes that young adults are able to bring about can be much greater than the hurdles they may create when they are given all the necessary opportunities to shine.