The working week should be shorter and workers should have a longer weekend. Do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In today’s competitive society, an increasing number of people have more workloads than in the past, which means they are carrying more burdens on their shoulders. Some people believe that companies should provide their employees with more leisure time to alleviate the pressure. As far as I am concerned, I agree that a shorter working week can bring many benefits, although it will truly cause some problems. Firstly, it is obvious that more time for relaxation can bring health benefits. Long working hours may cause many diseases, such as anxiety, depression, and even cardiovascular disease. A longer weekend means you have more time to do exercise and prevent these diseases, also you would have more ambition in order to do a better job in work. What is more, people are able to spend time with their families, and can enhance the bond between family members. Moreover, a longer weekend can have a positive impact on the economy. People can spend more on entertainment. For example, people are able to visit different cities, so they have to pay for transportation and a hotel. In addition, they are more likely to go shopping, dine out, or attend cultural events such as concerts and exhibitions. This increased consumer spending can stimulate local businesses, create more job opportunities, and even boost the tourism industry. In the long run, the additional revenue generated from leisure-related activities can contribute to the growth of the national economy. Admittedly, although there are many positive impacts, it will also cause some problems. Lessening working time will influence salary, which may lower the living standards. If employees’ working hours are reduced without an equivalent increase in productivity, companies may have to cut wages to balance their costs. For low-income workers in particular, even a slight reduction in salary could mean struggling to afford necessities such as rent, food, and healthcare. Furthermore, small businesses may find it difficult to maintain profitability if they are forced to pay the same wages for fewer working hours, which could eventually lead to layoffs or even business closures. In conclusion, a shorter working time can bring many advantages for families and countries, but can not deny that it has many possible disadvantages that should be considered.