The government's investment in arts, music and theatre is a waste of money. Governments should invest these funds in public services instead. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

It is argued that the government's should only focus to invest in public services rather than arts and cultural sector. I partially agree with this statement as I believe that we should prioritize the public services, but art and culture also important to rise country branding's. On the one hand, public services should regularly updated with the latest technology. Majority of the people rely on public services when it comes to administrative issues. The advancement of the technology has changes the people behaviour in accessing information as they prefer to do online services. The cost of the public services digitalization is not cheap, the government should allocate more funds to solve this issue. For instance, in Indonesia, the citizens are pleasant with the upgrade of the passport registrations system. In the past, people need to come directly to the imigration emigration office and now they can register from everywhere by the internet. As a result, people become more satisfied with the government policy. On the other hand, the government also need to invest in arts, music and theatre because it is part of national identity. In addition, if government agree to develop this area so there will be more artists and actors from the nation. As an impact, the other countries might be more familiar with the locals culture which beneficial of the country images. For example, South Korea currently famous because of the popularity of their music and drama series which brodcasted worldwide. The country get benefits from its popularity as their economy growth faster because of the international tourists who interested in learning the culture directly. In conclusion, I partially agree that the government should invest more on public services. It is important to prioritize public services because it is a people fundamental need, but the government also need paying anttention into domestic arts, music, and theatre development to get cultural exposure from the other countries.