In many societies, elderly people often live in retirement homes. This is not appropriate because families should always care for their aging members. Do you agree?

It is improper to let aged people stay in retirement homes instead of their families in many societies. I agree with this statement. However, it still depends on the health condition of the retired people. In my opinion, living at home gives people a sense of safety. Home is the best place to relax and take a rest. There are completely different that the relationship between old people and service providers compared to their relationship with their children or grandchildren, even though it is not professional. They would feel more love and care when living with their family. Some argue that the families are busy and lack time to take care of seniors. If aging members are still in good health, it won’t be a problem. On the contrary, if they are unhealthy, they should consider whether to stay at home. On the other hand, it’s an uphill battle for seniors to get used to the new environment without their friends, which affects their emotions. Following negative emotions, some research studies show that diseases usually come with depression; this would happen if one couldn’t get used to the retirement homes. Yet it is more convenient to seek nursing care in the care center; as a result, it is a better choice for those whose children lack time or usually need medical help. In addition, it is to remind them to visit their parents or grandparents frequently. In conclusion, if the seniors are suffering from diseases, living in the retirement home is acceptable; otherwise, it is more appropriate to live in their own home.