Now a days museums and historical sites are mainly visited by foreign tourists instead of locals. Why is this happening? What can be done to get locals to visit museums and historical sites more?

In the current era, the number of foreign visitors are more seen in museums and historical sites rather than local people. This is because of lack of interest of local people and promoting local tourism by government could solve this problem. This essay will elaborate the reasons for this problem and solution to it. To begin with, local residents are showing less interest in visiting museums due to the fact that they have been grown up in that area. They get familiar with the historical patrimony by hearing stories by their guardians or seniors and by studying literature. As a result, most people prefer to travel to new places. For instance, people in India especially Muslims, like to visit Saudi Arabia to get to know about their culture and traditions. However, solution to this problem is for the government to promote local tourism. This can be done primarily by running advertising campaigns on television or radio. Secondarily, reducing entrance fee for local visitors could increase the strength of local people in historical areas. Additionally, government authorities should encourage the foreign attractions like parties, building cinema halls to attract localities. In conclusion, historical places and museums are more oftenly visited by foreigners than locals due to less interest shown by local residents. By encouraging local tourism, reducing entrance fee for local people, and by implementing tourist attractions could possibly draw attention of locals.