IELTS Writing Task 2 Topics: Number 8. Some think that teenagers should follow older people’s rules. Others thinks that it is natural for them to challenge what older people say. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Whilst some people think that teenagers should stricty follow older's rules, others have a contrary opinion about how they will naturally challenge the elder. I believe that a young individual do not need to stick to the old rules in their life, because many things are different now compared to some decades ago. On one hand, eldery want people in their teenage years to just follow their rules. Some of them claim that their ways are the 'correct' options among all. This can be caused by their ego and belief after many trial and errors during their period. To make the youngster's personal life much easier, they often offer their opinions and rules to follow. For example, a teenager should study about a specific subject only from the exact books with the same learning methods they used during their highschool days back then, so the younger one can have the right source and study more efficiently. However, there are some old people accepting the fact that teenagers would challenge them back and being rebel as a natural response at their stage of life. That is completely fine, since youngster likes to explore plenty of things and finding out themself which way is actually working for them. So, they let them to chase freedom and not being tied to 'outdated' rules. For instance, many parents nowadays let their child to follow their own interest while picking a major at the university, instead of just following other family opinions about which study can produce more money. In conclusion, I agree that teenagers should just follow their dreams and pursue what they want without being tied completely to old rules, this way they can learn and grow more as a person and able to compete with people at their ages.