Many social media accounts are fake? What problems does this cause? What solutions can you suggest?

Many fraudulent accounts on social networking sites have become an issue now-a-days. This can lead to misguidance of online followers. However, this problem can be tackled by implementing some security features in the concerned online media platforms and providing education about this fake profiles to the society. Most of the accounts on social media are fabricated and used on several online networking sites such as Instagram, Twitter and so on. This has led numerous people follow these fake profiles unknowingly, and thus, misleading them in various ways. For instance, people in India had witnessed some of the scams in the past years. These fake account holders have been asking for the financial support for getting the treatment done for some fake disability which they portray on social media. Furthermore, I believe that the solution to this problem could be that the owner of specific online platform must provide some protective features. While creating an account, the individual should provide genuine scanned documents in order to log-in. Additionally, educating people about this scams could also benefit them not to trust on any fake identities. In conclusion, having fake user-id's on the internet can mislead people,and hence, people easily get trapped in the scams. I consider that enabling some secure features in social media apps and educating the society about the fabricated profiles could be beneficial to tackle this problem.