The first car appeared on British roads in 1888. By the year 2000 there may be as many as 29 million vehicles on British roads. Alternative forms of transport should be encouraged and international laws introduced to control car ownership and use. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Transportation, in particular cars are of a great use to society and have proved to be beneficial since they were created. There are many alternative methods of mobility that can also be explored and the government should encourage such behavior. This may be more convenient and this essay will focus on the benefits as well as the negatives and give a conclusion. Although cars tend to be the most favoured vehicles of choice, there are many other such methods that are just as enjoyable. For instance, trains and buses tend to operate the majority of inner city routes and for roundabout the same price as a car would. Since the introduction of such devices there has been a decline in walking, which has a direct adverse effect on our health. This can be proven by the National Health Services statistics that highlight the growing, upward trend in obesity. Furthermore, in light of such a crisis, the government should pass laws in terms of the usage of such vehicles. In doing so, not only will the trend of obesity and health issues decline, but also the net carbon emissions that are generated from overusage overuse of such machinary. On the other hand, with the cost of the living crisis becoming unbearable for most families, many now have no other option but to commute long distances in order to earn a living. This means that, many people will chose the most viable option they have, which is usually their car. Additionally, international rulings should not be sanctioned as these transportation methods have been purchased with that person’s own funds. Therefore, they have the right to use such a purchase as they wish. In conclusion, it seems advisable that other avenues of movement should be explored for health benefits as well as environmental ones.